Call Us: 555-555-1234

Course Content:

This 3 hour course covers the Canadian Worker’s right to know more about the safety and health hazards of materials often used in the workplace.
The WHMIS course covers identification of workplace hazardous materials and the safety requirements for packaging and handling as well as identification requirements and labels.

$60.00 Per Person

The letters W-H-M-I-S stand for “Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System”

The Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) is Canada's hazard communication standard. The key elements of the system are cautionary labeling of containers of WHMIS "controlled products", the provision of material safety data sheets (MSDS's) and worker education programs. WHMIS is implemented through coordinated federal, provincial and territorial legislation. Supplier labeling and MSDS requirements are set out under the Hazardous Products Act and associated Controlled Products Regulations. The Hazardous Products Act and its regulations are administered by the Government of Canada Department of Health, commonly referred to as Health Canada. The Controlled Products Regulations establish a national standard for the classification of hazardous workplace materials. In addition to setting out criteria for biohazards, chemical and acute hazards, the regulations specify criteria for chronic health hazards including mutagenicity, carcinogenic, embryo and reproductive toxicity, respiratory tract and skin sensitization. Each of the thirteen provincial, territorial and federal agencies responsible for occupational safety and health have established employer WHMIS requirements within their respective jurisdiction. These requirements place an onus on employers to ensure that controlled products used, stored, handled or disposed of in the workplace are properly labeled, MSDS's are made available to workers, and workers receive education and training to ensure the safe storage, handling and use of controlled products in the workplace. WHMIS balances workers' right-to-know with industry's right to protect confidential business information and includes a mechanism for ruling on claims for exemption from disclosure of confidential business information as well as appeals to these rulings.

WHMIS has three components:

  1. Labels
  2. Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS's)
  3. Worker Education WHMIS applies to materials called “controlled products”.

A controlled product is a product that meets the criteria for one or more of the six WHMIS hazard classes. Each class, except Class D, has a separate “hazard symbol”. Class D has three hazard symbols — one for each of its division.